CLAANZ Conference 2022: 

Charity Law Regulation in Australia and New Zealand - 10 Years On

29 July 2022 – Melbourne and online


About the conference

CLAANZ held its annual conference on 29 July 2022. The conference was hosted in Melbourne by Arnold Bloch Leibler,  who also generously provided the technical support to hold the event online. The theme of the conference was 'Charity Regulation in Australia and New Zealand: 10 Years On' which covered a fantastic range of topics by some of Australia and New Zealand's leading charity law experts.

Download the conference programme here.

Charity Regulation in Australia and New Zealand:
10 Years On


Acknowledgement of Country and Welcome 

Speaker: Peter Seidel, Arnold Bloch Leibler


Opening remarks

Speaker: Associate Professor Ian Murray, CLAANZ Chair 


First Peoples and Charity Law

  • Monica Morgan, CEO, Yorta Yorta Nations Aboriginal Corporation
  • Mihiarangi Pirippi, Managing Director, Whaia Legal
  • Bridgid Cowling, Special Counsel, Arnold Bloch Leibler
  • Chair: Sari Baird

Charity Regulation in Australia - 10 Years On

  • Minister Andrew Leigh MP, Assistant Minister for Competition, Charities and Treasury   

Reflections on Past and Future of Regulation for the Sector: An administrator's perspective and sector perspectives

  • Anna Longley, Assistant Commissioner, ACNC
  • Krystian Seibert, Industry Fellow, Swinburne University
  • Sue Barker, Director, Sue Barker Charities Law
  • Chair: Associate Professor Ian Murray

Change and Charity Law: How well does the conceptual architecture of the law of charity respond to social, economic and cultural change - and how might it be changed to better respond?

  • Seak-King Huang, Partner, Milner + Huang
  • Marla Cowen, Senior Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Joanna Austin, Director of Legal, ACNC
  • Chair: Sue Barker 

Challenges in the Exercise of Charity Regulation Administrative Discretions

  • Jennifer Beard, Associate Professor, Melbourne University
  • Angela Lee, Victorian Bar
  • Anna Longley, Assistant Commissioner, ACNC
  • Chair: Professor Matthew Harding

ATO and NFP Regulation: The ATO self-assessment project on Div 

  • Professor Myles McGregor-Lowndes OAM, Emeritus Professor, Queensland University of Technology
  • Dr Matthew Turnour, Director and Chairman, Neumann & Turnour Lawyers
  • Dr Natalie Silver, Senior Lecturer, Sydney University 
  • Chair: Claire Carton

Governance I: Conflicts of Interest & Governance after Establishing a Charity

  • Rosemary Langford, Professor, University of Melbourne
  • Bhavesh Narsey, Partner, Grant Thornton
  • Harriet Warlow-Shill, Managing Partner, Warlows Legal
  • Chair: Dr Natalie Silver 


Governance II: Cultural Change, Compliance Burden and Effective Pursuit of Purpose

  • Brooke Dellavedova, Interim General Counsel, Greenpeace
  • Angela Fimmano, Head of Legal, Mission Australia
  • Caitlin Edwards, Special Counsel, Arnold Bloch Leibler
  • Chair: Murray Baird

Acknowledgments and closing remarks

Speaker: Associate Professor Ian Murray